The Canadian Tribute to Human Rights

Dedication of Remaining Set of Aboriginal Languages Plaques

On June 21, 2010, National Aboriginal Day, a ceremony was held at the Human Rights Monument, to commemorate the completion of the 73 granite plaques on each of which is engraved in a language of the Aboriginal peoples of Canada, the concepts Equality, Dignity and Rights. The plaques were dedicated in a Smudging Ceremony led by Algonquin Elder Albert Dumont and in a Qulliq Ceremony led by Inuit Elder Sally Webster.

National Chief Shawn Atleo (Assembly of First Nations), President Mary Simon (Inuit Tapirit Kanatami), President Clément Chartier (Métis National Council) and National Chief Betty Ann Lavallée (Congress of Aboriginal Peoples) addressed the audience. Her Excellency the Right Honourable Michaëlle Jean, Governor General of Canada, concluded the ceremony with a stirring address on the rights of indigenous peoples around the world.

CTHR co-founders Hania Fedorowicz and George Wilkes brought greetings and CTHR board member Ingrid “Oni” Joseph hosted the event.

AFN Chief Atleo with the Nootka language plaque

Congress of Aboriginal Peoples National Chief Betty Ann Lavallée

Governor General  Michaëlle Jean at the podium

Inuit Sally Webster (Qulliq Ceremony) and Algonquin Elder Albert Dumont (Smudging Ceremony) with George Wilkes

Inuit Tapirit Kanatami President Mary Simon

Métis President Clément Chartier

Oni Joseph, CTHR Board Member, was MC of dedication ceremony

Overview of June 21 event

Plaque showing the English translation of the Algonquin statement

The Algonquin statement plaque

home | history | charter | events | donors | links | contact