The Canadian Tribute to Human Rights


Honorary Patrons

His Excellency
The Right Honourable David Johnston
C.C., C.M.M., C.O.M., C.D.
Governor General of Canada

Son Excellence
Le très honorable David Johnston
C.C., C.M.M., C.O.M., C.D.
Gouverneur général du Canada

Doris Anderson*
Hon. Thomas R. Berger
Charles J. Birchall
Hon. Edward Broadbent
Louis (Smokey) Bruyere
June Callwood*
Owen Carrigan
Le très hon. Jean Chrétien
Rt. Hon. Adrienne Clarkson
Hon. Irwin Cotler
L'hon. Jules Deschênes*
Marion Dewar*
Chief Georges Erasmus
R. Gordon Fairweather*
D'Iberville Fortier*
Victor Goldbloom
Rev. Roger Guindon*
Gordon F. Henderson*
Daniel G. Hill*
John P. Humphrey*
Hon. Mobina Jaffer
La très hon. Michaëlle Jean
Jan Kaszuba
Hon. Stanley Knowles*
Joy Kogawa
Eva Kushner
Bernard Lamarre
Antonine Maillet
Dennis McDermott*
Hon. Pauline M. McGibbon*
Mavor Moore*
Steve Nash
Navin Parekh
L'hon. Gérard Pelletier*
Rabbi Gunther Plaut*
Christopher Pratt
Hon. Juanita Westmoreland-Traoré
Hon. Lois Wilson
Maxwell Yalden*
Hon. Paul Yuzyk*


Major donors
($5000 or more)



David Berman
Max Clarkson in memory of Hélène and George Clarkson
Norman Dahl in memory of Nels Böhn Dahl and
Bernice Dahl Gosling
The Fedorowicz-Bruck Family in memory of Eugeniusz Fedorowicz.
Friends in memory of Les McAfee
The Hendelman and Naor Families
The Hon. David C. Lam
Phyllis Lambert
Gordon Macfarlane
Renee Smith Sussman and Irving Sussman
Marius Tremblay
David Mark Watson
George Wilkes in memory of Edith and Dean Wilkes
Carroll Holland
The Gary Peter Smith Memorial Fund (for lighting)
James and Annette McCoubrey

Community Organizations

Amnesty International, Canadian section
Anglican Diocese of Ottawa and Anglican Church of Canada
Assembly of First Nations
Association canadienne française de l’Ontario
Capital Community Credit Union and Canadian Co-operative Association
Canadian Jewish Congress
Canadian Polish Congress
Equality for Gays and Lesbians Everywhere (EGALE)
German Canadian Congress
Jewish Community Council of Ottawa
la Fédération des francophones hors Québec
National Association of Japanese Canadians
National Association of Friendship Centres
National Congress of Italian Canadians
Roman Catholic Episcopal Corporation of Ottawa
St. Hyacinth Polish Parish
Seventh-day Adventist Church in Canada
The Federation of Canadian Turkish Associations
Toronto Association for Democracy in China
Ukrainian Canadian Congress

Unions and Professionals

Canadian Association of Social Workers
The Canadian Bar Association
Canadian Labour Congress
Canadian Teachers’ Federation
Ontario Secondary School Teachers’ Federation
Public Service Alliance of Canada

Business, Foundations

Abitibi-Consolidated Inc.
Air Canada
Bell Canada
Canadian National Railways
Colautti Northern Developments Inc.
Community Foundation of Ottawa
CRB Foundation
SNC-Lavalin Inc.
Eiko Emori Inc.
Ontario Trillium Foundation
Royal Bank of Canada
Samuel and Saidye Bronfman Family Foundation
The Sutton Place Hotel
Maçonnerie Gagnon (Mtl.) Inc.
Vincent Spirito and Sons
GE Canada
Gabriel Mackinnon Inc.
CIET Canada
Flux Lighting
Welch LLP
Martel and Sons, Inc.


Government of Canada
Province of Alberta
Province of British Columbia
Province of Manitoba
Province of New Brunswick
Province of Newfoundland and Labrador
Province of Nova Scotia
Province of Ontario
Province of Prince Edward Island
Province of Quebec
Province of Saskatchewan
National Capital Commission
Regional Municipality of Ottawa-Carleton
City of Nepean
City of Ottawa
City of Toronto
Ville de Montréal


The following organizations endorsed the project when
the Human Rights Monument was built in 1989-90.

Association of Concerned Guyanese
Canadian Conference of the Arts
Canadian Commission for UNESCO
Canadian Congress for Learning Opportunities for Women
Canadian Council of Christians and Jews
Canadian Council of Churches Consultative Committee on Human Rights
Canadian Council on Social Development
Canadian Ethno-cultural Council
Canadian Hispanic Congress
Canadian National Institute for the Blind
Canadian Research Institute for the Advancement of Women
Centre for Research Action on Race Relations
Coalition for Gay Rights in Canada
Committee for Social Responsibility
Committee of Chilean Women
Conseil du travail de St-Jean et District
Council for the Arts in Ottawa
Czechoslovak National Council of Canada
Dignity Ottawa Dignité
Estonian Central Council in Canada
Canadian Federation of Vietnamese Associations
Federation of Sikh Associations of Canada
Focus on Black Women
Human Rights Institute of Canada
Hungarian Human Rights Foundation (Canada)
Inter-Church Committee on Human Rights in Latin America
International Commission of Jurists (Canadian section)
International Defence and Aid Fund for South Africa
Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (formerly Inuit Tapirisat of Canada)
Jesuit Centre for Social Faith and Justice
Justice Now
Knights of Columbus
Latvian National Federation in Canada
League for Human Rights B’nai B’rith Canada
Métis National Council
Muslim Community of Quebec
National Action Committee on the Status of Women
National Association of Women and the Law
Native Council of Canada
Ontario Advisory Council on Multiculturalism and Citizenship
Ontario Black History Society
Ottawa-Carleton Board of Trade
Ottawa-Carleton Independent Living Centre
Ottawa Central American Solidarity Committee
Ottawa Council for Low Income Support Services
Ottawa Estonian Society
Periodical Writers’ Association of Canada
Salvadorian Cultural Workshop
Solidarity and Human Rights Association, Inc.
Sunshine Coast Labour Council
Support Services for Torture Victims
The Canadian Centre for International P.E.N.
The Ottawa Advocates for Psychiatric Patients
The Spiritual Assembly of the Baha’is of Gloucester
United Nations Association in Canada
Voice of Women
Women’s Legal Education and Action Fund: LEAF
World Federalists of Canada

home | history | charter | events | donors | links | contact | copyright